Last updated: October 9, 2026
Chase is emailing some Chase Sapphire Preferred cardholders an offer to product-change to the Chase Sapphire Reserve and earn 75,000 Ultimate Rewards points after $4,000 in purchases by December 15, 2026. The upgrade itself has to be completed by December 1, 2026. Doctor of Credit, Frequent Miler, InsideFlyer, and TravelUpdate all reported a new round of those emails on October 8, 2026.
There is no public link. Chase is also sending upgrade emails with no points attached. The only offer worth accepting is the one in your own inbox that states the 75,000 points, the $4,000, and both dates.
A product change is not a new card application. That is why the email matters for someone Chase would decline for a new Sapphire Reserve: a person over Chase’s 5⁄24 rule, or someone the Reserve’s new-card bonus language may already block. It is a poor trade if you can still be approved for the Reserve and earn the public new-card bonus instead.
Before you upgrade: Run your spending through the credit card rewards calculator. The 75,000 points are one number. The Reserve’s $795 annual fee, against the Preferred’s $95, is the other. The calculator ranks the card on the spending you already have.
The offer, as the writeups describe it
These are the terms the October 8 reports agree on. Your email can say something else. If it does, the email wins.
| Detail | What the October 8 reports say |
|---|---|
| Bonus | 75,000 Ultimate Rewards points |
| Spend | $4,000 in purchases by December 15, 2026 |
| Upgrade deadline | December 1, 2026 |
| Who | Some current Sapphire Preferred cardholders. Targeted |
| Where it lives | Email. Doctor of Credit’s reported subject line is “[name], earn 75,000 points with Chase Sapphire Reserve®” |
| Public link | None |
| Other versions | Upgrade emails with no bonus. One Frequent Miler reader also reported a 75,000-point email that required $5,000 in three months |
Doctor of Credit’s October 8 update is the short version: another round went out, there is no direct link, and some people received an upgrade email without the points. InsideFlyer and TravelUpdate print the same two dates. Frequent Miler’s October 8 piece centers the 75,000 points and the December 15 spend, and it is where the warning about no-bonus emails is sharpest: do not assume the points will be added later.
Last year’s version, as Frequent Miler describes it, was 25,000 points after $3,000 in spend. TravelUpdate calls earlier Reserve upgrade offers 25,000 points as well. This round is larger. It is still a smaller bonus than the public new-card offer on the Reserve, which this site’s card catalog, checked against Chase.com on October 2, 2026, lists as 100,000 points after $6,000 in three months. InsideFlyer and TravelUpdate describe that same public offer. The upgrade asks for $2,000 less spend and pays 25,000 fewer points, and it does not open a new account.
Check whether you have it
Search the inbox, including spam, for Chase mail about a Sapphire Reserve upgrade. Doctor of Credit quotes the subject as ”[name], earn 75,000 points with Chase Sapphire Reserve®”, with the recipient’s name in front. A Frequent Miler reader found that email in spam, so the junk folder is worth a look. That is one report, not a guarantee about where Chase files it.
Read the body before you click anything. All four of these conditions have to be in the message you are accepting:
- 75,000 Ultimate Rewards points.
- $4,000 in purchases.
- A spend deadline of December 15, 2026.
- An upgrade deadline of December 1, 2026.
An email that invites you to upgrade and never mentions 75,000 points is a different offer. Doctor of Credit, Frequent Miler, InsideFlyer, and TravelUpdate all say those no-bonus emails are going out in the same wave. Frequent Miler’s author, answering a reader who had been told on the phone that a no-bonus email might still pay the points, said not to assume the bonus without confirmation. Get the 75,000 and both dates in writing on your account before you accept.
If no email is there, you are not in this round. There is nowhere on a public Chase page to opt in.
Who the upgrade is for
Doctor of Credit’s verdict names two groups. Frequent Miler and TravelUpdate land in the same place.
You are over 5⁄24, and you are not about to fall under it. Chase’s 5⁄24 guideline, as this site explains it, is about new personal cards: five or more new personal cards in 24 months and Chase often declines the next one. A product change does not open a new account. TravelUpdate puts it that way: the upgrade does not create a separate new Reserve account or another credit line. Reports say people over 5⁄24 are receiving the email. That is the practical reason to take a bonus that is smaller than the public 100,000-point offer. Confirm with Chase that the path in your email is a product change, not a fresh application, before you count on it.
You already held a Sapphire Reserve, and the new-card bonus is blocked or risky. Frequent Miler quotes the current Reserve welcome-offer language as saying you may not be eligible if you have ever had the card. The word “may” is not a lifetime ban printed in stone, and the same writer would not bet a future 100,000-point offer on it. Doctor of Credit describes the same block as lifetime language. An upgrade bonus is a different offer from a new-card bonus. Frequent Miler’s author, asked directly, said a person who already received a Reserve bonus can still receive this upgrade bonus, because it is not a welcome bonus. One reader who had held the Reserve a couple of years earlier clicked through and was offered the card with no bonus. The email, and the screen after you click it, have to say 75,000.
The third reason is the card you would be holding after December 1, not just the bonus. Since October 1, 2026, Sapphire Preferred points transfer to World of Hyatt at 4:3. The Reserve still transfers at 1:1. That split is covered in the Hyatt ratio piece and in why the Reserve is the last 1:1 Hyatt card. Frequent Miler flags the same change as a reason this upgrade is more interesting than last year’s 25,000-point version. The ratio that applies is the ratio on the card the points sit on when you transfer.
Who should skip it
You have never had the Reserve, and you are under 5⁄24. Apply for the card. The public offer in this site’s catalog is 100,000 points after $6,000 in three months, and those points would sit on a Reserve, so they transfer to Hyatt at 1:1. Frequent Miler’s instruction on this is direct: do not take the upgrade if you can get the new-card bonus. Taking the upgrade means you have held the Reserve, and the “may not be eligible if you’ve ever had the card” language is then attached to you.
Someone in the household already has a Reserve. Chase lets you combine Ultimate Rewards across your own cards and with one household member, and the Hyatt ratio is the ratio of the card that sends the transfer. The 1:1 Hyatt piece walks through holding one Reserve and moving points to it before a Hyatt booking. That path does not require this email.
The email does not state the 75,000 points and both deadlines. Stop. A no-bonus upgrade is a voluntary move onto a $795 card.
You will not use the Reserve’s credits, or you will not spend $4,000 by December 15. The bonus posts only after the spend. Upgrading on December 1 leaves 14 days to put $4,000 on the card. Upgrading in October leaves a longer window, and the deadline is still December 15, not “three months from the day you click.”
The $795 fee against the $95 card
The Reserve’s annual fee is $795. The Preferred’s is $95. Both figures are the fees in this site’s card catalog and in the fee-increase article. The gap is $700 a year. Authorized users on the Reserve are $195.
The Reserve guide is the full credit list. The credits that change the math, if you would spend the money anyway:
- $300 annual travel credit, applied automatically to eligible travel each account anniversary year. The 1:1 Hyatt article treats that credit as the honest first subtraction, which takes the fee gap from $700 to $400.
- Up to $500 a year at The Edit, Chase’s prepaid hotel collection, capped at $250 per booking.
- Up to $300 a year at Sapphire Reserve Exclusive Tables restaurants.
- A longer list (StubHub and viagogo, Lyft, Peloton, DoorDash, and a 2026-only select-hotel credit) that is worth face value only when it replaces spending you already do. Several of those run through 2027 and need activation. The guide has the dates.
The Preferred side of the same comparison is a $95 fee, a $100 Chase Travel hotel credit each account anniversary, and the earn rates in the Preferred guide: 5x on Chase Travel, 3x dining, 3x gas and EV charging, 2x on other travel. The Reserve earns 8x on Chase Travel, 4x on flights and hotels booked direct, 3x on dining, and 1x on other travel. The 4x on direct flights and hotels is the gain. The drop from 2x to 1x on other travel is the loss, and the fee article flags it for anyone who books through third-party sites.
Count credits you would pay for with your own money. A $795 fee with an unused Edit credit and an unused dining credit is a $795 fee. The is the Sapphire Reserve worth it page runs that test on your own credits. The side-by-side of the two cards is Sapphire Preferred vs Reserve.
At The Points Guy’s October 2026 valuation of 2.05¢ per Ultimate Rewards point, the value every MaxPoints tool uses, 75,000 points are $1,537.50. That planning figure can cover a year of the fee gap. It does not cover a second year. After the bonus is spent, the card has to earn its $795 on credits, earn rates, and the redemptions below.
What 75,000 points buy
Book the seat or the stay first, then decide whether the bonus is the pile of points that covers it. Chase’s airline partners transfer at 1:1 from both Sapphire cards. Hyatt does not. The full list is the Chase transfer-partner page.
A Hyatt stay
On the Reserve, 75,000 Ultimate Rewards become 75,000 World of Hyatt points. On the Preferred they become 56,250 Hyatt points, because 4:3 pays 750 Hyatt points per 1,000 Ultimate Rewards. The Preferred guide already uses that 56,250 figure for a 75,000-point balance.
The May 2026 Hyatt chart, as the Reserve guide states it:
| Award | Hyatt points | Covered by 75,000 on the Reserve (1:1) | Covered by 56,250 from the Preferred (4:3) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Category 4, Lowest | 12,000 | 6 nights, 3,000 points left | 4 nights, 8,250 points left |
| Category 7, Lowest | 25,000 | 3 nights exactly | 2 nights, 6,250 points left |
| Category 7, Top | 55,000 | 1 night, 20,000 points left | 1 night, 1,250 points left |
| Category 8, Lowest | 35,000 | 2 nights, 5,000 points left | 1 night, 21,250 points left |
| Category 8, Top | 75,000 | 1 night exactly | Short by 18,750 Hyatt points |
Category 7 is the guide’s band for premium Park Hyatt and Alila hotels, priced from 25,000 points at Lowest to 55,000 at Top. Category 8 runs from 35,000 at Lowest to 75,000 at Top. Those are chart prices on the pricing level Hyatt is selling that night, not a promise that the hotel you want has a Lowest night open.
At 1.65¢ per Hyatt point, the same TPG October 2026 figure the tools use, 75,000 Hyatt points are $1,237.50 and 56,250 are about $928. The 18,750-point gap is about $309 of planning value. A cash rate below those figures is a cheap room. A cash rate above them is the reason to transfer.
The bonus is not the only balance the ratio touches. Points you already hold move to 1:1 once they sit on the Reserve. Every 1,000 Ultimate Rewards become 250 more Hyatt points than they would from the Preferred, about $4.13 at 1.65¢, which is the break-even step in the 1:1 Hyatt article. A 100,000-point balance already in the account is 100,000 Hyatt points after the upgrade and 75,000 Hyatt points if it stays on the Preferred. That 25,000-point difference is $412.50 at 1.65¢. The same article’s fee math still applies: after the $300 travel credit, the gap is $400 a year, and the ratio alone covers it only if you move a lot of points to Hyatt every year.
A flight
Airline transfers stay 1:1 either way, so the upgrade does not multiply these redemptions. It is how you get the 75,000 points if a new Reserve application is not available to you.
The Reserve guide’s Aeroplan partner chart is the concrete one:
- US to Europe, business class, under 4,000 miles: 60,000 points one-way. This bonus covers that seat with 15,000 points left.
- US to Europe, business class, 4,001 to 6,000 miles: 75,000 points one-way. That is the whole bonus. The guide’s example is Los Angeles to Paris, about 5,700 miles, in Air France business class.
Taxes and carrier charges are extra. Partner space has to be there on the day you book. Transfer only after the seat is on the screen.
The Chase partner note on this site says Virgin Atlantic Upper Class from New York to London has started around 29,000 points one-way when saver space exists. If that price is the price on your screen, 75,000 points cover two of those one-ways (about 58,000) with points left. “Has started around” is a recent observation, not an award chart. If the screen shows a higher number, use the screen.
United MileagePlus is on the 1:1 list too, and United prices dynamically. Compare the award with the cash fare before you move the points. There is no fixed United price hiding inside these 75,000 points.
Marriott, only for a stay you have already priced
Chase is also running a 70% transfer bonus to Marriott Bonvoy through October 15, 2026, at 11:59 p.m. ET. During it, 1,000 Ultimate Rewards become 1,700 Bonvoy points. The Chase to Marriott piece is the full argument, and the conclusion there does not change because of this upgrade: the bonus is for topping off a room you can already book. At TPG’s 0.75¢ per Bonvoy point, 75,000 Ultimate Rewards become 127,500 Bonvoy points worth about $956, against $1,537.50 of Ultimate Rewards value at 2.05¢.
The dates do not line up for the upgrade bonus itself. Marriott’s bonus ends October 15. The upgrade spend can run until December 15. Points you do not have yet cannot catch a transfer window that will already be closed. If you already hold Ultimate Rewards and a Marriott stay is priced, that is a separate decision, and it does not require this product change. Marriott is 1:1 from the Preferred and from the Reserve. Hyatt is the partner the upgrade changes.
See all active transfer bonuses →.
How the upgrade works
What the reports establish: you start from the email, the change is a product change of the Preferred you already have, and Chase is not publishing a link the rest of us can open.
What they do not establish, and what you should ask Chase before you rely on it:
The click path is messy. Readers on Frequent Miler describe opening the email and landing in the wrong place. One person who already holds the Preferred was shown an application for the Preferred. Another, who had held the Reserve before, was shown a Reserve offer with no bonus and declined it. A third reported an instant decision, no credit check, and a card expected in one to two days. Those are individual reports. They are not the procedure. If the page after the click does not show 75,000 points, $4,000 by December 15, 2026, and an upgrade by December 1, 2026, stop. Call or send a secure message and ask Chase to confirm those three terms on the account. Then accept.
The account is the same account. The 16-digit number is not promised in these writeups. TravelUpdate describes the upgrade as a change that does not open another credit line. That is the ordinary shape of a product change: the history stays with the card you already have, and a new application does not hit 5⁄24. None of the four articles prints a term that your card number is unchanged, or that a replacement card arrives on a set schedule. Ask Chase what happens to the number, the due date, and any authorized users.
The annual fee is the open question. The upgrade emails, as quoted, do not say whether Chase bills the full $795 immediately, charges the difference between $95 and $795, or refunds any unused Preferred fee. Plan on being shown a Reserve fee and read the amount on the screen before you accept.
Downgrading later is a separate, reported rule, and it is easy to get wrong. Frequent Miler’s piece first described using a second year’s credits and then downgrading before the second annual fee. Commenters corrected that, and the author agreed: Chase does not prorate a downgrade. The report from a May or June customer-service call is a full refund inside a short window after the annual fee posts, described as about 30 days, with that commenter unsure whether the cutoff is closer to 41 days, and no partial refund after that. That correction is about a downgrade, not about how this upgrade bills the first Reserve fee. It does mean a plan to “try the Reserve for a few months and get most of the fee back” is not supported. Confirm the refund window on your account before you build any downgrade around it.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Is the 75,000-point Sapphire Reserve upgrade public? A: No. Doctor of Credit, Frequent Miler, InsideFlyer, and TravelUpdate all describe an email with no public link. A new round was reported on October 8, 2026. If you did not get the email, there is no page to enroll from.
Q: How do I know the email is the real offer? A: It has to state 75,000 Ultimate Rewards points, $4,000 in purchases by December 15, 2026, and an upgrade completed by December 1, 2026. Doctor of Credit’s reported subject line is “[name], earn 75,000 points with Chase Sapphire Reserve®”. Check spam. An upgrade email that never mentions the points is a different offer, and Chase is sending those too.
Q: I am over 5⁄24. Can I still get the Reserve this way? A: The reports treat this as a product change, which does not open a new account, and they say cardholders over 5⁄24 are receiving it. This site’s 5⁄24 guide is about new-card approvals. Confirm with Chase that your email is a product change before you count on an approval.
Q: I already had a Sapphire Reserve. Can I earn the 75,000 points? A: Frequent Miler’s author says yes, because an upgrade bonus is not the new-card welcome bonus. The new-card offer is the one whose language says you may not be eligible if you have ever had the Reserve. Your own email still has to state the 75,000 points. A reader who had held the Reserve before was shown an upgrade with no bonus.
Q: I am under 5⁄24 and I have never had the Reserve. Should I upgrade? A: No. Apply for the Reserve. The public offer in this site’s catalog is 100,000 points after $6,000 in three months. Frequent Miler’s advice is the same. An upgrade can put the “ever had the card” language between you and that bonus later.
Q: What does the upgrade cost? A: The Reserve’s annual fee is $795 and the Preferred’s is $95, a $700 difference, from this site’s card catalog. The Reserve’s $300 travel credit brings the practical gap to about $400 if you would have spent that $300 on travel anyway. The Edit credit, the dining credit, and the rest count only when you would buy those things without the coupon. The fee-increase article and the Reserve guide list them.
Q: Does Chase prorate the annual fee on this upgrade? A: The quoted emails do not say how the first Reserve fee is billed. On a later downgrade, Frequent Miler’s corrected account is that Chase does not prorate: a full refund is available only for a short window after the fee posts, described as about 30 days, and nothing partial after that. Confirm both the upgrade charge and any later refund window with Chase before you accept.
Q: Will my card number and history stay? A: The reports describe a product change of the card you have, not a new credit line. They do not promise that the 16-digit number stays the same. Ask Chase about the number, the payment history on that account, and when a physical card arrives.
Q: Should I move the 75,000 points to Marriott for the 70% bonus? A: Not as a reason to upgrade. That bonus ends October 15, 2026, at 11:59 p.m. ET, and the upgrade spend can run until December 15. The Chase to Marriott article is for points you already hold and a stay you can already book. Hyatt at 1:1, and the airline partners at 1:1, are the redemptions this upgrade changes or unlocks.
Q: What is 75,000 Ultimate Rewards points worth? A: $1,537.50 at the 2.05¢ planning value this site uses. On a Reserve they are 75,000 Hyatt points, which is three Category 7 Lowest nights or one Category 8 Top night on the chart in the Reserve guide, or 75,000 miles at a 1:1 airline partner. The Aeroplan chart price for one-way US-to-Europe business class between 4,001 and 6,000 miles is 75,000 points. Move them for a seat or a stay you can book.
The decision
Accept the upgrade when three things are true at once. The email in front of you states 75,000 points, $4,000 by December 15, 2026, and upgrade by December 1, 2026. A new Reserve application is not available to you, because of 5⁄24 or because you have already held the card. And the Reserve’s credits and 1:1 Hyatt transfers are worth the jump from a $95 fee to a $795 fee on the spending you actually have.
Skip it when you can still open the Reserve as a new card and earn 100,000 points after $6,000 in three months. Skip it when the email is silent on the points. Skip it when the $300 travel credit and the other credits you would use do not close enough of the $700 gap.
The bonus is a pile of points for a specific stay or a specific seat: three Category 7 Lowest Hyatt nights, one Category 8 Top night, or one long one-way business-class award to Europe on Aeroplan’s 75,000-point band. It is not a reason to hold a $795 card you will not use.
Run the fee and the earn rates through the credit card rewards calculator before you call Chase.
Sources, checked October 9, 2026.
- The offer. Doctor of Credit, October 8, 2026: another round went out; no direct link; subject line “[name], earn 75,000 points with Chase Sapphire Reserve®”; 75,000 points after $4,000 in spend by December 15, 2026, when upgrading to the Sapphire Reserve; must upgrade by December 1; some people received an upgrade email without the points; the writer’s verdict is that it suits people over 5⁄24 who are unlikely to get back under, and people who already received a Sapphire Reserve bonus and are blocked by lifetime language.
- The same round. Frequent Miler, October 8, 2026: targeted 75,000 Ultimate Rewards points for upgrading a Sapphire Preferred to a Sapphire Reserve and spending $4,000 by December 15, 2026; last year’s offer described as 25,000 points after $3,000; the writer says not to take this if you have never had the Reserve and you are under 5⁄24, because the new-card bonus is better; the Reserve welcome-offer language quoted there says you may not be eligible if you have ever had the card, and the writer would not risk the new-card bonus; the same writer says an upgrade bonus is still available to someone who already received a Reserve welcome bonus. Reader reports on that page, which are single data points: a no-bonus upgrade email, a click that opened a Preferred application, a prior Reserve holder shown a no-bonus approval screen, a 75,000-point email that required $5,000 of spend in three months, an email found in spam, and one report of no credit check with a card expected in one to two days. The writer’s reply on the no-bonus email is not to assume the points without confirmation.
- Dates and the no-bonus emails. InsideFlyer, October 8, 2026 and TravelUpdate, October 8, 2026: upgrade by December 1, 2026, then $4,000 by December 15, 2026; no public link; some invitations carry no bonus; the public new-card offer described as 100,000 points after $6,000 in three months; the Reserve annual fee stated as $795 and the Preferred as $95. TravelUpdate also describes earlier upgrade offers as 25,000 points and says an upgrade does not create a separate new Reserve account. InsideFlyer credits TravelUpdate as the earlier report.
- Downgrade proration. On the Frequent Miler page, a reader reported a May or June customer-service answer that Chase does not prorate: a full annual-fee refund inside roughly 30 days of the fee posting (the reader was unsure whether the cutoff is closer to 41 days), and no proration after that. The author agreed that Chase no longer prorates downgrades. That thread does not state how this upgrade bills the first Reserve fee. The earlier “use two years of credits, then downgrade” plan in that piece depended on a proration policy the same page’s correction says is gone, so this article does not use those credit totals.
- Fees, earn rates, and the public welcome offers are this site’s card catalog, notes checked against Chase.com on October 2, 2026: Sapphire Reserve $795 ($195 per authorized user), $300 anniversary travel credit, up to $500 The Edit credit, up to $300 Exclusive Tables dining credit, 8x Chase Travel, 4x flights and hotels booked direct, 3x dining, 1x other, public signup offer 100,000 points after $6,000 in three months. Sapphire Preferred $95, $100 Chase Travel hotel credit, 5x Chase Travel, 3x dining, 3x gas and EV charging, 2x other travel, Hyatt transfers at 4:3, public signup offer 75,000 points after $5,000 in three months. Offers vary. The fee-increase article is the history of the Reserve’s move from $550 to $795.
- Point values are The Points Guy’s October 2026 valuations, the figures every MaxPoints tool uses: Ultimate Rewards 2.05¢, World of Hyatt 1.65¢, Marriott Bonvoy 0.75¢. 75,000 × 2.05¢ = $1,537.50. 75,000 × 1.65¢ = $1,237.50. 56,250 × 1.65¢ = $928.125. 18,750 × 1.65¢ = $309.375. 25,000 × 1.65¢ = $412.50. 250 Hyatt points × 1.65¢ = $4.125 per 1,000 Ultimate Rewards. They are planning figures, not a rate Chase or Hyatt pays.
- Hyatt prices and the Aeroplan bands are the figures already in this site’s Sapphire Reserve guide: Category 7 from 25,000 (Lowest) to 55,000 (Top), Category 8 from 35,000 to 75,000, and Aeroplan partner business class from the US to Europe at 60,000 points under 4,000 miles and 75,000 points for 4,001–6,000 miles, with Los Angeles to Paris (about 5,700 miles) as the 75,000-point example. Category 4 Lowest at 12,000 points is the figure in the 1:1 Hyatt article. The Preferred’s 75,000-to-56,250 Hyatt conversion is the figure in the Preferred guide.
- Virgin Atlantic at about 29,000 points is this site’s Chase transfer-partner note: Upper Class New York to London has started around 29,000 points one-way when saver space exists. Two of those are about 58,000 points. Confirm the price on the award screen.
- The Marriott 70% bonus runs September 15 through October 15, 2026, ending 11:59 p.m. ET on October 15, at 1,000 Ultimate Rewards to 1,700 Bonvoy points. 75,000 × 1.7 = 127,500 Bonvoy points, and 127,500 × 0.75¢ = $956.25. Details and the “usually a pass” conclusion are in the Chase to Marriott article.
Confirm the bonus, the spend, both deadlines, and the fee on your own Chase email and approval screen before you upgrade. Terms change, and a targeted offer can be pulled.
